Bargello, Santa Croce, & Boboli Gardens

We had a late start to the day with a trip to the Bargello to see Michelangelo’s Bacchus, Donatello’s David, and Donatello’s St. George (no pictures).  We then headed over to the Basilica of Santa Croce, where we saw the tombs of Michelangelo, Machiavelli, and Galileo, along with some noted frescoes of Giotto.

After the group broke for the day, I enjoyed the (finally) warmer, sunny day with a panini (though I was overcharged for water), some gelato (I was once again thwarted in my attempts to find blood orange, as the place recommended to me said they would have it tomorrow), a walk along the river, and then a trip to Boboli Gardens, part of the Palazzo Pitti across the river.  It’s a little expensive to get in (especially considering the seven Euros does not also get you into the Palatine Gallery, where I later found out reside a couple Titian paintings I would have enjoyed seeing), but it’s a beautiful place (like a smaller version of Caserta, perhaps).

I rested at the hotel, and then we took care of some laundry—9 Euros for a small load and it wasn’t even all dry!  Allora…. For dinner, we went to Trattoria Quattro Leoni across the river and had a pomodoro pasta and Florentine steak, followed by tiramisu.  I am thinking early to bed today, as I am a bit under the weather and worn out.  Tomorrow we fly to Catania, Sicily!

About saholc

Latin Teacher at The Hill School Atlanta Braves & US Soccer Fan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

