Etruscans, Popes, and Jazz

Got an espresso, a danish, and a glass of blood orange juice for breakfast this morning before heading off on a long bus ride to the Villa Giulia (the Etruscan museum which is part of the Villa Borghese).  There are no pictures allowed there, and I forgot my camera, so I have no pictures of the rest of the day, either—I will have to make it back to some of the places I went today.

At the Villa Giulia we got to see the Sarcophagus of the Married Couple and the Eufronius Crater, as well as some cool elongated statuettes (votive offerings), a miniature chariot (left in a tomb), shields, and terracotta statues from the Temple of Apollo in Veii.  No gift shop, so I could not purchase a replica elongated statue (although I have seen Caesar bobble-heads around the city that I am considering purchasing).

Mike, Matt, and I headed off to the Piazza del Popolo and grabbed lunch (I had bruschetta pomodoro and dolce salad (greens, apples, oranges, corn)), then Mike and I explored the gardens/park of the Villa Borghese (lovely park which also has a replica Globe Theater) before heading to the Spanish Steps.  This is a spot I’ll have to come back to at night.  We walked from there to the Tiber, crossing in front of the Mausoleum of Hadrian and then heading into St. Peter’s Square.  Amazing to see it in person (of course, I was picturing various movies I’ve seen scenes of there).  We also went in to the church and saw, among other things, Michelangelo’s Pieta.  It’s definitely the most impressive church I have been in, but I did not know you could take an elevator up to the dome, so that gives me an excuse to go back (in addition to not having my camera this time).  Finally, we walked back to the Centro (though part of our walk was on a road without sidewalks—a slightly dangerous adventure).

In the evening I headed down to Trastevere with Mike, Jeanna, and Cynthia to watch the France-Spain game during dinner.  We had a buffet at a Spanish tapas place while watching the tv in the bar across the street, then headed to another bar for the second half.  After the game we went to see some jazz next to Castel Sant’Angelo, then walked by St. Peter’s and on back to the Centro.  There was also a cool bazaar and spots for playing ping pong and foosball.  Fun evening in Rome!

About saholc

Latin Teacher at The Hill School Atlanta Braves & US Soccer Fan
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

